Crying Over Sins

as salaamu alaykum,

may this reach you in great health and Imaan,

I want to repent, BUT I feel as if my heart is hard. I know I have done so many wrongs but I am not able to be so remorsefull that it makes me cry. What is it i can do to change my dead heart and earn the Mercy and forgiveness of My Lord through istighfar? Jazakallah khayr

wasalaam
وعليكم السلام
باسمه تعالى
Dear Brother in Islaam, crying over sins is a good thing but not necessary. What necessary is to refrain from sins, regret on wrongs and make firm intention of not committing the same in the future. However, if you can not cry then pretend as if you were crying. Besides, remember death all the time and take the company of a pious and righteous Aalim, Inshaa Allaah you will start crying one day.
والسلام

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

