E-coded products their status

ASSALAMU ALAIKUM, Dear Members of the Group, our Muslims brothers are very keen to know Islamic ruling regarding E-codes Products. They are frequently asking about the permissibility of the products. But we are not able to take any decision, as we don’t have the authentic information lest we should deprive people of the blessing Allah has provided for them.  The issue completely depends on finding out what exactly E-codes stand for, because each code stands for a particular chemical. Therefore, experts of the field are requested to provide authentic information with full mailing address and contact numbers, if they have any beside ones mentioned below.  Wassalam, Muhammad Shihabuddin Qasmi Are we eating Pork?

– Dr. M. Amjad KhanIn nearly all the western countries including Europe, the primary choice for meat is pig. There are a lot of farms in these countries to breed this animal. In France alone, Pig Farms account for more than 42,000. Pigs have the highest quantity of fat in their body than any other animal. The following report by a medical practitioner reveals the extent to which pig fat might be unknowingly consumed by Muslims throughout the world.
One of my friends, Shaikh Sahib works in Pegal, France, in the Department of Food. His work is to register all makes of goods, foods and medicines. Whenever any company is putting something in the market, its ingredients have to be approved by the Department of Food, France, and as Shaikh Sahib works in the Laboratory Quality Control, he knows about the ingredients. Many of these ingredients contain scientific names, but some have mathematical names, like E-904, E-141. At first, when Shaikh Sahib came across them, he was curious and asked his Department Incharge, who was a French, and he replied, “Just do your job. Don’t ask questions.” This aroused suspicion in Shaikh Sahib’s mind and he started looking-up for them in the files. What he found was enough to astonish any Muslim in the world. In nearly all the western countries including Europe, the primary choice for meat is pig. There are a lot of farms in these countries to breed this animal. In France alone, Pig Farms account for more than 42,000. Pigs have the highest quantity of fat in their body than any other animal. But Europeans and Americans try to avoid fats. Thus, where does the fat from these pigs go? All pigs are cut in slaughter houses under the control of the department of food and it was the headache of the department of food to dispose of the fat removed from these pigs. Formally, it was burnt (about 60 years ago). Then they thought of utilizing it. First, they experimented it in the making of soaps and it worked. Then, a full network was formed and this fat was chemically processed, packed and marketed, while the other manufacturing companies bought it. In the meantime, all European States made it a rule that every Food, Medical and Personal Hygiene product should have the ingredients listed on it’s cover. So, this ingredient was listed as pig fat. Those who are living in Europe for the past 40 years know about this. But, these products came under a ban by the Islamic countries at that time, which resulted in a trade deficit.
Going back in time, if you are somehow related to South East Asia, you might know about the provoking factors of the 1857 Civil War. At that time, rifle bullets were made in Europe and transported to the sub-continent through the sea. It took months to reach there and the gunpowder in it was ruined due to the exposure to sea. Then, they got the idea of coating the bullets with fat, which was pig fat. The fat layer had to be scratched by teeth before using them. when the word spread, the soldiers, mostly Muslim and some vegetarians, refused to fight. This eventually lead to the Civil War. The Europeans recognized this fact, and instead of writing ‘pig fat’, they started writing ‘animal fat’. All those living in Europe since 1970’s know this fact. When the companies were asked by authorities from the Muslim countries, what animal fat is it, they were told it was cow and sheep fat. Here again a question arose, if it was cow or sheep fat, still it is haram to Muslims, as these animal were not slaughtered as per the Islamic law. Thus, they were again banned. Now, these multinational companies were again facing a severe drought of money as 75% of their income comes from selling their goods to Muslim Countries, and these earn billions of Dollars of profit from their exports to the Muslim world.
Finally they decided to start a coding language, so that only their Departments of Food Administration should know what they are using, and the common man is left lurking in the dark. Thus, they started E-Codes. These E-Ingredients are present in a majority of products of multinational firms including, but not limited to – [b]tooth paste, shaving cream, chewing gum, chocolate, sweets, biscuits, corn flakes, toffees, canned foods, fruit tins, and some medications like multi-vitamins. Since these goods are being used in all Muslim countries indiscrimately, our society is facing problems like shamelessness, rudeness and sexual promiscuity.[b]

So I request all Muslims to check the ingredients of the items of daily use and match it with the following list of E-Codes. If any of the ingredients listed below is found, try to avoid it, as it has got pig fat.
E100, E110, E120, E 140, E141, E153, E210, E213, E214, E216, E234, E252, E270, E280, E325, E326, E327, E334, E335, E336, E337, E422, E430, E431, E432, E433, E434, E435, E436, E440, E470, E471, E472, E473, E474, E475, E476, E477, E478, E481, E482, E483, E491, E492, E493, E494, E495, E542, E570, E572, E631, E635, E904.It is the responsibility of each and every Muslim to follow the Islamic path and also keep his fellow followers informed of anything that he comes across. May Allah help us lead a halal life.FOOD ADDITIVES AND HALAL CERTIFICATIONBACKGROUNDFood additives as defined by the European Community (EC) is “any substance which are not normally consumed as food in itself and not normally used as a characteristic ingredient of food whether or not it has nutritive value, in the manufacture, processing, preparation, treatment, packaging, transport or storage of such food results, or may be reasonably expected to result, in it or its by-products becoming directly or indirectly a component of such foods”.In Singapore, food additive is defined as “all substances, which are components of food, the intended use of which results or may reasonably be expected to result, directly or indirectly, in their affecting the characteristics of food but does not include any foreign substance mixed with food as a result of contamination, or improper handling of food during preparation, processing, packing or storage of the food”There are many kinds of food additives available and have been widely used for centuries. It has been categorized by World Health Organisation(WHO), Food and Agriculture Organisation of the United Nations(FAO), Codex Alimentarius Commision (Codex) and EC for easy reference Some of the categories includes emulsifiers, thickeners, anti-oxidants, colouring, flavour enhancer etc. Some of the common additives includes, salt, sugar, vitamins, starches etcOver the years, the extensive use of food additives raised concerns over its safety for consumption by humans. There were reports of human intolerance over its use. Clinical symptoms like hypersensitivity and/or allergy are the most common. Therefore, its use needed to be regulated. Thus the formation of Scientific Committee of Food (SCF) of the European Community.The members of the SCF are independent persons, highly qualified in the fields associated with medicine, nutrition, toxicology, biology, chemistry, or other similar disciplines.FOOD ADDITIVES’ ECC-CODES (E-CODES)Before any additive is used in food, it is subjected to an adequate toxicology evaluation. Its level of usage was also evaluated. In European Community (EC), approved food additives are given codes with an ‘E’ prefix for easy reference and transparent movement across Europe. These codes are known as EEC number. In its food labeling legislation, EC requires “food additives sold singly or mixed with each other, for each additive, the name laid down by any Community provisions applying and its EEC number or, in the absence for such provisions, a description of the additive that is sufficiently precise to enable it to be distinguished from additives with which it could be confused, in descending order of the proportion by weight in the total”.In short, additives that have been proven safe and approved by EC is given the E-codes. Manufacturers have a choice of whether to declare their product ingredients using its (the additives) scientific name, description or its E-codesSince there had been extensive study on the safety use and application of food additives, many health authorities around the world adopted similar regulations proposed by EC, FAO and WHO. For the convenience of consumers to identify the E-codes, a further scientific and application classification had been developed. They are as follows:E100 – E181                 ColoursE200 – E297                 Preservatives and Food AcidsE300 – E381                 Anti-oxidants, Mineral salts and some food acidsE400 – E492                 Emulsifiers, Vegetable GumsE500 – E579                 Anti-Caking Agents and Mineral SaltsE900 – E1202     Artificial sweeteners, etcE1400 – E1450   StarchesE1505 – E1520   MiscellaneousSome food additives are natural like, E100 which is actually turmeric powder widely used as spices in curries and colouring in some savoury dishes. Some others are produced synthetically like E621, Mono-sodium glutamate (MSG).However, E-codes do not require the source of the additives for consideration of classification as its primary concern is food safety. Some can be sourced from animals while some others can be extracted from plants. An example would be E476, Polyglycerol polyricinoleate which can be derived from animal fats but cheaply and abundantly available if derived from palm oil.HALAL CERTIFIED FOOD/PRODUCTSIn Muis’ Halal certification, all supplies of raw materials, ingredients, method of preparation, storage, packaging, transport and delivery are assessed for its Halal status. Counter-measures against any possible contamination with non-Halal elements are inspected and evaluated. This includes the food additives used. Only Halal food additives are considered for use in Halal food production. Therefore, Muis would like to advise Muslim consumers to insist on Halal certified food or products which bears the official certification mark of Halal certification authorities.E codes ingredients

E codes are codes sometimes found on food labels in the European Union (GB, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Portugal, etc.) The code indicates an ingredient which is some type of food additive. The E indicates that it is a “European Union approved” food additive. If you never saw one before, probably you don’t live in the European Union. Other countries have different food labelling laws. Even inside the EU, sometimes they use the code, sometimes they still write the word. Halal: Halal is a Quranic term which means allowed or lawful. Halal foods and drinks are permitted for consumption by Allah-the Supreme Law Giver. Eating Halal is obligatory on every Muslim.Haram: Haram is a Quranic term which means prohibited or unlawful. Haram foods and drinks are absolutely prohibited by Allah. Eating Haram is forbidden for every Muslim.Mushbooh: Mushbooh is an Arabic term which means suspected and cover a grey area between Halal and Haraam. If one does not know the Halal or Harm status of a particular food or drink, such a food or drink is doubtful. A practicing Muslims prevents himself from consuming doubtful things. Other words you may come across are Makrooh meaning ‘religiously discouraged’ or ‘disliked’ and Dhabiha meaning ‘slaughtered according to Islamic method’.  E Codes: E100 Curcumin, turmeric [Colouring] halalE101 Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), formerly called lactoflavin (Vitamin G) [Colouring] [likely to be GM] mushboohE101a Riboflavin-5′-Phosphate [Colouring] [likely to be GM] mushboohE102 Tartrazine [Colouring] [possible allergic reaction] halalE103 Chrysoine Resorcinol [Colouring] ?E104 Quinoline Yellow [Colouring] [possible allergic reaction] halalE105 Fast Yellow AB [Colouring] ?E106 Riboflavin-5-Sodium Phosphate [Colouring] mushboohE107 Yellow 2G [Colouring] ?E110 Sunset Yellow FCF, Orange Yellow S [Colouring] halalE111 Orange GGN [Colouring] ?E120 Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines [Colouring] [animal origin] haramE121 Orcein, Orchil [Colouring] ?E122 Carmoisine, Azorubine [Colouring] halalE123 Amaranth [Colouring] halalE124 Ponceau 4R, Cochineal Red A, Brilliant Scarlet 4R [Colouring] halalE125 Scarlet GN [Colouring] ?E126 Ponceau 6R [Colouring] ?E127 Erythrosine [Colouring] halalE128 Red 2G [Colouring] halalE129 Allura Red AC [Colouring] halalE130 Indanthrene blue RS [Colouring] ?E131 Patent Blue V [Colouring] halalE132 Indigo carmine, Indigotine [Colouring] halalE133 Brilliant Blue FCF [Colouring] halalE140 Chlorophylls and Chlorophyllins: (i) Chlorophylls (ii) Chlorophyllins [Colouring] haramE141 Copper complexes of chlorophylls and chlorophyllins (i) Copper complexes of chlorophylls (ii) Copper complexes of chlorophyllins [Colouring] haramE142 Greens S [Colouring] [possible allergic reaction] halalE150a Plain Caramel [Colouring] [likely to be GM] halalE150b Caustic sulphite caramel [Colouring] [likely to be GM] halalE150c Ammonia caramel [Colouring] [likely to be GM] halalE150d Sulphite ammonia caramel [Colouring] [likely to be GM] halalE151 Black PN, Brilliant Black BN [Colouring] halalE152 Black 7984 [Colouring] ?E153 Carbon black, Vegetable carbon [Colouring] [likely to be GM] mushboohE154 Brown FK, Kipper Brown [Colouring] halalE155 Brown HT, Chocolate brown HT [Colouring] halalE160a Alpha-carotene, Beta-carotene, Gamma-carotene [Colouring] mushboohE160b Annatto, bixin, norbixin [Colouring] halalE160c Capsanthin, capsorubin, Paprika extract [Colouring] halalE160d Lycopene [Colouring] [possibly GM] halalE160e Beta-apo-8′-carotenal (C 30) [Colouring] halalE160f Ethyl ester of beta-apo-8′-carotenic acid (C 30) [Colouring] halalE161a Flavoxanthin [Colouring] mushboohE161b Lutein [Colouring] haramE161c Cryptoaxanthin [Colouring] [likely to be GM] halalE161d Rubixanthin [Colouring] halalE161e Violaxanthin [Colouring] halalE161f Rhodoxanthin [Colouring] halalE161g Canthaxanthin [Colouring] haramE162 Beetroot Red, Betanin [Colouring] halalE163 Anthocyanins [Colouring] halalE170 Calcium carbonate [Colouring] halalE171 Titanium dioxide [Colouring] halalE172 Iron oxides and hydroxides [Colouring] halalE173 Aluminium [Colouring] halalE174 Silver [Colouring] halalE175 Gold [Colouring] halalE180 Pigment Rubine, Lithol Rubine BK [Colouring] halalE181 Tannin ?E200 Sorbic acid [Preservative] halalE201 Sodium sorbate [Preservative] halalE202 Potassium sorbate [Preservative] halalE203 Calcium sorbate [Preservative] halalE210 Benzoic acid [Preservative] halalE211 Sodium benzoate [Preservative] halalE212 Potassium benzoate [Preservative] halalE213 Calcium benzoate [Preservative] halalE214 Ethyl para-hydroxybenzoate [Preservative] halalE215 Sodium ethyl para-hydroxybenzoate [Preservative] halalE216 Propyl para-hydroxybenzoate [Preservative] halalE217 Sodium propyl para-hydroxybenzoate [Preservative] halalE218 Methyl para-hydroxybenzoate [Preservative] halalE219 Sodium methyl para-hydroxybenzoate [Preservative] halalE220 Sulphur dioxide [Preservative] halalE221 Sodium sulphite [Preservative] halalE222 Sodium hydrogen sulphite [Preservative] halalE223 Sodium metabisulphite [Preservative] halalE224 Potassium metabisulphite [Preservative] halalE225 Sodium sulphite [Preservative] ?E226 Calcium sulphite [Preservative] halalE227 Calcium hydrogen sulphite [Preservative] [Firming Agent] halalE228 Potassium hydrogen sulphite [Preservative] ?E230 Biphenyl, diphenyl [Preservative] halalE231 Orthophenyl phenol [Preservative] halalE232 Sodium orthophenyl phenol [Preservative] halalE233 Thiabendazole [Preservative] halalE234 Nisin [Preservative] ?E235 Natamycin, Pimaracin [Preservative] halalE236 Formic acid [Preservative] halalE237 Sodium formiate [Preservative] halalE238 Calcium formiate [Preservative] halalE239 Hexamethylene tetramine, Hexamine [Preservative] halalE240 Formaldehyde [Preservative] ?E242 Dimethyl dicarbonate [Preservative] halalE249 Potassium nitrite [Preservative] halalE250 Sodium nitrite [Preservative] halalE251 Sodium nitrate, saltpetre [Preservative] halalE252 Potassium nitrate (Saltpetre) [Preservative] haramE260 Acetic acid [Preservative] [Acidity regulator] halalE261 Potassium acetate [Preservative] [Acidity regulator] halalE262 Sodium acetates (i) Sodium acetate (ii) Sodium hydrogen acetate (sodium diacetate) [Preservative] [Acidity regulator] halalE263 Calcium acetate [Preservative] [Acidity regulator] halalE264 Ammonium acetate [Preservative] ?E270 Lactic acid [Preservative] [Acid] [Antioxidant] halalE280 Propionic acid [Preservative] halalE281 Sodium propionate [Preservative] halalE282 Calcium propionate [Preservative] halalE283 Potassium propionate [Preservative] halalE284 Boric acid [Preservative] halalE285 Sodium tetraborate (borax) [Preservative] halalE290 Carbon dioxide [Acidity regulator] halalE296 Malic acid [Acid] [Acidity regulator] halalE297 Fumaric acid [Acidity regulator] halalE300 Ascorbic acid (Vitamin C) [Antioxidant] halalE301 Sodium ascorbate [Antioxidant] halalE302 Calcium ascorbate [Antioxidant] halalE303 Potassium ascorbate [Antioxidant] ?E304 Fatty acid esters of ascorbic acid (i) Ascorbyl palmitate (ii) Ascorbyl stearate [Antioxidant] mushboohE306 Tocopherol-rich extract (natural) [Antioxidant] halalE307 Alpha-tocopherol (synthetic) [Antioxidant] halalE308 Gamma-tocopherol (synthetic) [Antioxidant] halalE309 Delta-tocopherol (synthetic) [Antioxidant] halalE310 Propyl gallate [Antioxidant] halalE311 Octyl gallate [Antioxidant] halalE312 Dodecyl gallate [Antioxidant] halalE315 Erythorbic acid [Antioxidant] halalE316 Sodium erythorbate [Antioxidant] halalE317 Erythorbin acid [Antioxidant] ?E318 Sodium erythorbin [Antioxidant] ?E319 Butylhydroxinon [Antioxidant] ?E320 Butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA) [Antioxidant] halalE321 Butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT) [Antioxidant] halalE322 Lecithin [Emulsifier] mushbooh;  halal if it is from soy fat or egg yolk; haram if it is from animal fat E325 Sodium lactate [Antioxidant] halalE326 Potassium lactate [Antioxidant] [Acidity regulator] halalE327 Calcium lactate [Antioxidant] [possibly of animal origin] halalE329 Magnesium lactate [Antioxidant] ?E330 Citric acid [Antioxidant] halalE331 Sodium citrates (i) Monosodium citrate (ii) Disodium citrate (iii) Trisodium citrate [Antioxidant] halalE332 Potassium citrates (i) Monopotassium citrate (ii) Tripotassium citrate [Antioxidant] halalE333 Calcium citrates (i) Monocalcium citrate (ii) Dicalcium citrate (iii) Tricalcium citrate [Acidity regulator] [Firming Agent] halalE334 Tartaric acid (L(+)-) [Acid] [Antioxidant] halalE335 Sodium tartrates (i) Monosodium tartrate (ii) Disodium tartrate [Antioxidant] halalE336 Potassium tartrates (i) Monopotassium tartrate (cream of tartar) (ii) Dipotassium tartrate [Antioxidant] halalE337 Sodium potassium tartrate [Antioxidant] halalE338 Phosphoric acid [Antioxidant] halalE339 Sodium phosphates (i) Monosodium phosphate (ii) Disodium phosphate (iii) Trisodium phosphate [Antioxidant] mushboohE340 Potassium phosphates (i) Monopotassium phosphate (ii) Dipotassium phosphate (iii) Tripotassium phosphate [Antioxidant] mushboohE341 Calcium phosphates (i) Monocalcium phosphate (ii) Dicalcium phosphate (iii) Tricalcium phosphate [Anti-caking agent] [Firming Agent] mushboohE343 Magnesium phosphates (i) monomagnesium phosphate (ii) Dimagnesium phosphate [Anti-caking agent] ?E350 Sodium malates (i) Sodium malate (ii) Sodium hydrogen malate [Acidity regulator] halalE351 Potassium malate [Acidity regulator] halalE352 Calcium malates (i) Calcium malate (ii) Calcium hydrogen malate [Acidity regulator] halalE353 Metatartaric acid [Emulsifier] halalE354 Calcium tartrate [Emulsifier] ?E355 Adipic acid [Acidity regulator] halalE356 Sodium adipate [Acidity regulator] halalE357 Potassium adipate [Acidity regulator] halalE363 Succinic acid [Acidity regulator] halalE365 Sodium fumarate [Acidity regulator] ?E366 Potassium fumarate [Acidity regulator] ?E367 Calcium fumarate[Acidity regulator] ?E370 I,4-Heptonolactone [Acidity regulator] ?E375 Nicotinic acid, Niacin, Nicotinamide [Colour Retention Agent] ?E380 Triammonium citrate [Acidity regulator] halalE381 Ammoniumferrocitrate [Acidity regulator] ?E385 Calcium disodium ethylene diamine tetra-acetate (Calcium disodium EDTA) halalE400 Alginic acid [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Gelling agent] [Emulsifier] halalE401 Sodium alginate [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Gelling agent] [Emulsifier] halalE402 Potassium alginate [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Gelling agent] [Emulsifier] halalE403 Ammonium alginate [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] halalE404 Calcium alginate [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Gelling agent] [Emulsifier] halalE405 Propane-1,2-diol alginate (Propylene glycol alginate) [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] halalE406 Agar [Thickener] [Gelling agent] [Stabiliser] halalE407 Carrageenan [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Gelling agent] [Emulsifier] [possible allergic reaction] halalE407a Processed eucheuma seaweed [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Gelling agent] [Emulsifier] ?E410 Locust bean gum (Carob gum) [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Gelling agent] [Emulsifier] halalE412 Guar gum [Thickener] [Stabiliser] halalE413 Tragacanth [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] halalE414 Acacia gum (gum arabic) [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] halalE415 Xanthan gum [Thickener] [Stabiliser] halalE416 Karaya gum [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] halalE417 Tara gum [Thickener] [Stabiliser] halalE418 Gellan gum [Thickener] [Stabiliser] [Emulsifier] halalE420 Sorbitol (i) Sorbitol (ii) Sorbitol syrup [Emulsifier] [Sweetener] [Humectant] halalE421 Mannitol [Anti-caking agent] [Sweetener] halalE422 Glycerol [Emulsifier] [Sweetener] [possibly of animal origin] mushboohE425 Konjac (i) Konjac gum (ii) Konjac glucomannane [Emulsifier] ?E430 Polyoxyethylene (8) stearate [Emulsifier] [Stabiliser] [possible allergic reaction] haramE431 Polyoxyethylene (40) stearate [Emulsifier] haramE432 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monolaurate (polysorbate 20) [Emulsifier] mushboohE433 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monooleate (polysorbate 80) [Emulsifier] mushboohE434 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monopalmitate (polysorbate 40) [Emulsifier] mushboohE435 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan monostearate (polysorbate 60) [Emulsifier] mushboohE436 Polyoxyethylene (20) sorbitan tristearate (polysorbate 65) [Emulsifier] [possibly of animal origin] mushboohE440 Pectins (i) pectin (ii) amidated pectin [Emulsifier] halalE441 Gelatine [Emulsifier] [Gelling agent] [animal origin] haramE442 Ammonium phosphatides [Emulsifier] halalE444 Sucrose acetate isobutyrate [Emulsifier] halalE445 Glycerol esters of wood rosins [Emulsifier] mushboohE450 Diphosphates (i) Disodium diphosphate (ii) Trisodium diphosphate(iii) Tetrasodium diphosphate (iv) Dipotassium diphosphate (v) Tetrapotassium diphosphate (vi) Dicalcium diphosphate (vii) Calcium dihydrogen diphosphate [Emulsifier] halalE451 Triphosphates (i) Pentasodium triphosphate (ii) Pentapotassium triphosphate [Emulsifier] mushboohE452 Polyphosphates (i) Sodium polyphosphates (ii) Potassium polyphosphates (iii) Sodium calcium polyphosphate (iv) Calcium polyphophates [Emulsifier] mushboohE459 Beta-cyclodextrine [Emulsifier] ?E460 Cellulose (i) Microcrystalline cellulose (ii) Powdered cellulose [Emulsifier] halalE461 Methyl cellulose [Emulsifier] halalE462 Ethyl cellulose [Emulsifier] ?E463 Hydroxy propyl cellulose [Emulsifier] halalE464 Hydroxy propyl methyl cellulose [Emulsifier] halalE465 Ethyl methyl cellulose [Emulsifier] halalE466 Carboxy methyl cellulose, Sodium carboxy methyl cellulose [Emulsifier] halalE468 Crosslinked sodium carboxymethyl cellulose [Emulsifier] ?E469 Enzymically hydrolysed carboxymethylcellulose [Emulsifier] ?E470a Sodium, potassium and calcium salts of fatty acids [Emulsifier] [Anti-caking agent] mushboohE470b Magnesium salts of fatty acids [Emulsifier] [Anti-caking agent] mushboohE471 Mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids (glyceryl monostearate, glyceryl distearate) [Emulsifier] mushboohE472a Acetic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE472b Lactic acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE472c Citric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE472d Tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE472e Mono- and diacetyl tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE472f Mixed acetic and tartaric acid esters of mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE473 Sucrose esters of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE474 Sucroglycerides [Emulsifier] mushboohE475 Polyglycerol esters of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE476 Polyglycerol polyricinoleate [Emulsifier] mushboohE477 Propane-1, 2-diol esters of fatty acids, propylene glycol esters of fatty acids [Emulsifier] mushboohE478 Lactylated fatty acid esters of glycerol and propane-1 [Emulsifier] mushboohE479b Thermally oxidized soya bean oil interacted with mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids [Emulsifier] halalE481 Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate [Emulsifier] halalE482 Calcium stearoyl-2-lactylate [Emulsifier] halalE483 Stearyl tartrate [Emulsifier] halalE491 Sorbitan monostearate [Emulsifier] mushboohE492 Sorbitan tristearate [Emulsifier] mushboohE493 Sorbitan monolaurate [Emulsifier] halalE494 Sorbitan monooleate [Emulsifier] mushboohE495 Sorbitan monopalmitate [Emulsifier] mushboohE500 Sodium carbonates (i) Sodium carbonate (ii) Sodium hydrogen carbonate (Bicarbonate of soda) (iii) Sodium sesquicarbonate [Acidity regulator] [Raising Agent] halalE501 Potassium carbonates (i) Potassium carbonate (ii) Potassium hydrogen carbonate [Acidity regulator] halalE503 Ammonium carbonates (i) Ammonium carbonate (ii) Ammonium hydrogen carbonate [Acidity regulator] halalE504 Magnesium carbonates (i) Magnesium carbonate (ii) Magnesium hydroxide carbonate (syn. Magnesium hydrogen carbonate) [Acidity regulator] [Anti-caking agent] halalE507 Hydrochloric acid [Acid] halalE508 Potassium chloride [Gelling agent] [Seasoning] halalE509 Calcium chloride [Sequestrant] [Firming Agent] halalE510 Ammonium chloride, ammonia solution [Acidity regulator] [Improving agent] halalE511 Magnesium chloride [Firming Agent] halalE512 Stannous chloride [Antioxidant] halalE513 Sulphuric acid [Acid] halalE514 Sodium sulphates (i) Sodium sulphate (ii) Sodium hydrogen sulphate [Acidity regulator] halalE515 Potassium sulphates (i) Potassium sulphate (ii) Potassium hydrogen sulphate [Seasoning] halalE516 Calcium sulphate [Sequestrant] [Improving agent] [Firming Agent] halalE517 Ammonium sulphate [Improving agent] halalE518 Magnesium sulphate, Epsom salts [Acidity regulator] [Firming Agent] halalE519 Copper sulphate [Preservative] halalE520 Aluminium sulphate [Firming Agent] halalE521 Aluminium sodium sulphate [Firming Agent] halalE522 Aluminium potassium sulphate [Acidity regulator] halalE523 Aluminium ammonium sulphate [Acidity regulator] halalE524 Sodium hydroxide [Acidity regulator] halalE525 Potassium hydroxide [Acidity regulator] halalE526 Calcium hydroxide [Acidity regulator] [Firming Agent] halalE527 Ammonium hydroxide [Acidity regulator] halalE528 Magnesium hydroxide [Acidity regulator] halalE529 Calcium oxide [Acidity regulator] [Improving agent] halalE530 Magnesium oxide [Acidity regulator] [Anti-caking agent] halalE535 Sodium ferrocyanide [Acidity regulator] [Anti-caking agent] halalE536 Potassium ferrocyanide [Anti-caking agent] halalE538 Calcium ferrocyanide [Anti-caking agent] halalE540 Dicalcium diphosphate [Acidity regulator] [Emulsifier] halalE541 Sodium aluminium phosphate, acidic [Emulsifier] halalE542 Bone phosphate [Anti-caking agent] [animal origin] haramE543 Calcium sodium polyphosphate halalE544 Calcium polyphosphate [Emulsifier] halalE545 Aluminium polyphosphate [Emulsifier] ?E550 Sodium silicate [Anti-caking agent] halalE551 Silicon dioxide (Silica) [Emulsifier] [Anti-caking agent] halalE552 Calcium silicate [Anti-caking agent] halalE553a (i) Magnesium silicate (ii) Magnesium trisilicate [Anti-caking agent] halalE553b Talc [Anti-caking agent] halalE554 Sodium aluminium silicate [Anti-caking agent] halalE555 Potassium aluminium silicate [Anti-caking agent] halalE556 Calcium aluminium silicate [Anti-caking agent] halalE558 Bentonite [Anti-caking agent] halalE559 Aluminium silicate (Kaolin) [Anti-caking agent] halalE570 Stearic acid (Fatty acid) [Anti-caking agent] mushboohE572 Magnesium stearate, calcium stearate [Emulsifier] [Anti-caking agent] mushboohE574 Gluconic acid [Acidity regulator] halalE575 Glucono-delta-lactone [Acidity regulator] [Sequestrant] halalE576 Sodium gluconate [Sequestrant] halalE577 Potassium gluconate [Sequestrant] halalE578 Calcium gluconate [Firming Agent] halalE579 Ferrous gluconate [Colouring] halalE585 Ferrous lactate [Colouring] halalE620 Glutamic acid [Flavour enhancer] mushboohE621 Monosodium glutamate [Flavour enhancer] mushboohE622 Monopotassium glutamate [Flavour enhancer] mushboohE623 Calcium diglutamate [Flavour enhancer] mushboohE624 Monoammonium glutamate [Flavour enhancer] mushboohE625 Magnesium diglutamate [Flavour enhancer] mushboohE626 Guanylic acid [Flavour enhancer] halalE627 Disodium guanylate, sodium guanylate [Flavour enhancer] halalE628 Dipotassium guanylate [Flavour enhancer] halalE629 Calcium guanylate [Flavour enhancer] halalE630 Inosinic acid [Flavour enhancer] halalE631 Disodium inosinate [Flavour enhancer] [possibly of animal origin] mushboohE632 Dipotassium inosinate [Flavour enhancer] halalE633 Calcium inosinate [Flavour enhancer] halalE634 Calcium 5′-ribonucleotides [Flavour enhancer] haramE635 Disodium 5′-ribonucleotides [Flavour enhancer] [possibly of animal origin] haramE636 Maltol [Flavour enhancer] halalE637 Ethyl maltol [Flavour enhancer] halalE640 Glycine and its sodium salt [Flavour enhancer] [possibly of animal origin] mushboohE900 Dimethyl polysiloxane [Anti-foaming agent] [Anti-caking agent] halalE901 Beeswax, white and yellow [Glazing agent] [animal origin] halalE902 Candelilla wax [Glazing agent] halalE903 Carnauba wax [Glazing agent] [possible allergic reaction] halalE904 Shellac [Glazing agent] [animal origin] halalE905 Microcrystalline wax [Glazing agent] ?E907 Crystalline wax [Glazing agent] halalE910 L-cysteine [animal origin] halalE912 Montanic acid esters halalE913 Lanolin, sheep wool grease [Glazing agent] halalE914 Oxidized polyethylene wax [Glazing agent] halalE915 Esters of Colophane [Glazing agent] halalE920 L-cysteine hydrochloride [Improving agent] [animal origin] haramE921 L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate [Improving agent] [animal origin] haramE924 Potassium bromate [Improving agent] ?E925 Chlorine [Preservative] [Bleach] halalE926 Chlorine dioxide [Preservative] [Bleach] halalE927b Carbamide [Improving agent] halalE928 Benzole peroxide [Improving agent] ?E938 Argon [Packaging gas] halalE939 Helium [Packaging gas] halalE941 Nitrogen [Packaging gas] halalE942 Nitrous oxide [Propellant] halalE948 Oxygen [Packaging gas] halalE950 Acesulfame K [Sweetener] halalE951 Aspartame [Sweetener] halalE952 Cyclamic acid and its Na and Ca salts [Sweetener] halalE953 Isomalt [Sweetener] halalE954 Saccharin and its Na, K and Ca salts [Sweetener] halalE957 Thaumatin [Sweetener] [Flavour enhancer] halalE959 Neohesperidine DC [Sweetener] halalE965 Maltitol (i) Maltitol (ii) Maltitol syrup [Sweetener] [Stabiliser] [Humectant] halalE966 Lactitol [Sweetener] [animal origin] halalE967 Xylitol [Sweetener] halalE999 Quillaia extract [Foaming Agent] halalE1103 Invertase [Stabiliser] halalE1105 Lysozyme [Preservative] haramE1200 Polydextrose [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] [Humectant] [Carrier] halalE1201 Polyvinylpyrrolidone [Stabiliser] halalE1202 Polyvinylpolypyrrolidone [Carrier] [Stabiliser] halalE1400 Dextrin [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1401 Modified starch [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] ?E1402 Alkaline modified starch [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1403 Bleached starch [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] ?E1404 Oxidized starch [Emulsifier] [Thickening agent] halalE1410 Monostarch phosphate [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1412 Distarch phosphate [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1413 Phosphated distarch phosphate [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1414 Acetylated distarch phosphate [Emulsifier] [Thickening agent] halalE1420 Acetylated starch, mono starch acetate [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1421 Acetylated starch, mono starch acetate [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] ?E1422 Acetylated distarch adipate [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1430 Distarch glycerine [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] ?E1440 Hydroxy propyl starch [Emulsifier] [Thickening agent] halalE1441 Hydroxy propyl distarch glycerine [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] E1442 Hydroxy propyl distarch phosphate [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1450 Starch sodium octenyl succinate [Emulsifier] [Stabiliser] [Thickening agent] halalE1451 Acetylated oxidised starch [Emulsifier] [Thickening agent] ?E1505 Triethyl citrate [Foam Stabiliser] halalE1510 Ethanon ?E1518 Glyceryl triacetate (triacetin) [Humectant] mushboohE1520 Propylene glycol [Humectant] Propylene glycol?Bismillahi-ar-Rahmani-r-Raheem! At least in European countries some ingredients are marked only with E-codes. Here are listed all the E-codes that contain pig or other Haram stuff. Remember that gelatin, lecithin and aminoacids are from animal sources. You might find these E-codes from ice cream, candy, cheese, ready made soups, anywhere!Halal ingridients are e.g. soyalecithin and pectins. Those two are from plants. Names are translated as well as I can but please correct my spelling if you can. This data is from Finnish Food Product Office. Code —– Name —– Other information

E120 – (carmines, coccus niles, carmine acid)
E631 – (disodiumenocinate)
E904 – (couldn’t find English name)
E101 – (riboflavin) of blood
E101 – (riboflavinfive fostate) of blood
E141 – (don’t know the name)
E422 – (glycerol) of swine
E430 – (no name given) of swine
E431 – (polyoxyethylenestearate)
E432 – (polyoxyethylenesorbitanemonolaurate)
E433 – (polyoxyetylenesorbitanemono-oleate) of swine
E435 – (polyoksietyleenisorbitaanimonostearaatti) of swine
E436 – (polyoxyethylenesorbitanetristearate)
E470A – (latter’s greaseacid-, potassium- & calsiumsalts) of swine
E470B – (greaseacids’ magnesiumsalts) of swine
E471 – (greaseacids’ mono- & diglycerols) of swine
E472A – (acetic acid esters) of swine
E472B – (lactic acid esters) of swine
E472C – (citric acid esters) of swine
E472E – (wine acid esters) of swine
E472F – (acetic acid- & wine acid esters)
E473 – (greaseacids’ saccharose esters)
E474 – (sugarglycerids)
E475 – (greaseacids’ polyglycerol esters) of swine
E476 – (polyglycerolpolyrisinolate)
E477 – (probuleneglycolmonostearate) of swine
E481 – (sodiumstearolyledilactylate) of swine
E482 – (calsiumstearolyledilactylate) of swine
E483 – (stearyletartrate)
E491 – (sorbitanemonostearate) of swine
E492 – (sorbitanetristearate) of swine
E493 – (sorbitanemonolaurate)
E494 – (sorbitanemono-oleate)
E495 – (sorbitanemonopalmitate)
E570 – (greaseacids)

 

Question: Many processed foods contain substances that are represented in product labels by e-codes. These substances – mainly used as emulsifiers – are often derived from lard and other animal fats. What should a Muslim do with such foods?

Answered by Sheikh `Abd al-Rahmân al-Jar`î, professor at King Khâlid University in Abhâ

Each code stands for a particular chemical. The issue requires first finding out exactly what each e-code stands for. This can be solicited from the experts in the appropriate fields.

If it is established that a certain chemical is always of porcine origin, then it will be unlawful to eat products containing that e-code in their list of ingredients.

However, if the e-code stands for a certain chemical of uncertain origin, since a good number of these chemicals can be derived from a variety of sources, then a Muslim may consume a product containing that e-code in its ingredients. The legal principle being employed here is that any issue wherein there is doubt is presumed to be nonexistent.

 Allaah has blessed His slaves by creating for them all kinds of provision on earth, and He has permitted them to eat from that which is halaal (permissible) and good; this includes very many things, it is not limited. Allaah says (interpretation of the meaning): O mankind! Eat of that which is lawful and good on the earth, and follow not the footsteps of Shaytaan (Satan). Verily, he is to you an open enemy.” [al-Baqarah 2:168] Allaah forbids a limited number of foods, as He says (interpretation of the meaning): “Say (O Muhammad): “I find not in that which has been revealed to me anything forbidden to be eaten by one who wishes to eat it, unless it be Maitah (a dead animal) or blood poured forth (by slaughtering or the like), or the flesh of swine (pork); for that surely, is impure or impious (unlawful) meat (of an animal) which is slaughtered as a sacrifice for others than Allaah (or has been slaughtered for idols, or on which Allaah’s Name has not been mentioned while slaughtering).” [al-An’aam 6:145] The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) forbade the eating of every carnivorous animal that has fangs, and every bird which has talons. (Narrated by Muslim, 6/60)  And he forbade the flesh of (domestic) donkeys (narrated by al-Mukhari in al-Fath, no. 4215).  Of the foods which are to be found nowadays, some of them are clearly haraam, such as dead meat [from an animal which has died naturally as opposed to being slaughtered properly] and pork. Some foods may contain ingredients and derivatives which come from haraam sources, so we have to find out where they come from so that we may know what the ruling is concerning them. The gelatin which was mentioned in the question may originate from the skin, muscles and bones of haraam animals such as pigs. Hence gelatin which is derived from collagen which comes from pigs is haraam, because it is as if the pig had been turned into salt. The most correct view is that it is haraam even if it has been changed, so long as it originally came from a pig, which is haraam.  The fats which are used in foods come either from vegetable sources or animal sources.  If they come from vegetable sources they are halaal, so long as they have not been mixed with anything that is impure (najjis) or anything that could contaminate them. If they come from animal sources, they are either from animals that we are permitted to eat or animals that we are not permitted to eat.  If they come from an animal that we are permitted to eat, then they come under the same ruling as the meat of that animal.  If they come from an animal which it is haraam for us to eat – such as pigs – then we look at whether they are used in foods or for other purposes.  If they are used  for non-food purposes, e.g. many fats are used in making soap, then there is a difference of scholarly opinion, but the most correct view is that they are haraam.  If they are used in foods, e.g., pig fat (lard) is used in making sweets and other foods, this is haraam.  With regard to cheese: if it is made from the milk of an animal which we are not permitted to eat, then according to scholarly consensus it is not permissible to eat it. If it is made from the milk of an animal which we are permitted to eat, and it is known that it is made with rennet that has been derived from an animal slaughtered according to sharee’ah and  it has not been mixed with any najaasah (impurity), then it may be eaten.  If it was made with rennet derived from dead meat, there is a difference of scholarly opinion as to whether we may eat it, but the most correct view is that it is haraam.  If it was made with rennet from a source which is inherently naajis (impure), such as rennet derived from pigs, then it should not be eaten.  See Ahkaam al-At’imah fi’l-Sharee’ah al-Islamiyyah by al-Tareeqi, p. 482  In many cases these matters are unclear to the Muslim (he does not know the source of food ingredients). In this case, it is better to fear Allaah and be cautious. Avoiding doubtful things may be preferable to using them in these circumstances, as stated in the hadeeth narrated by al-Nu’maan ibn Basheer (may Allaah be pleased with him) who said: I heard the Messenger of Allaah (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) say – and al-Nu’maan pointed to his  ears – “That which is lawful is plain and that which is unlawful is plain, and between the two of them there are doubtful matters about which not many people know. Thus he who avoids doubtful matters clears himself in regard to his religion and his honour, but he who falls into doubtful matters falls into that which is unlawful, like the shepherd who pastures around a sanctuary, all but grazing therein. Truly every king has a sanctuary, and truly Allaah’s sanctuary is His prohibitions. Truly in the body there is a morsel of flesh which, if it is sound, all the body is  sound and which, if it is corrupt, all of it will be corrupt. Truly it is the heart.” (Narrated by Muslim, 1599). From the above we learn that the basic principle concerning food is that it is halaal, apart from those things for which there is clear evidence (daleel) that they are haraam, such as dead meat, blood, animals sacrificed to other than Allaah and meat over which the name of Allaah was not pronounced at the time of slaughter. Concerning the foods mentioned in the question: if it is proven that they contain ingredients derived from haraam sources, it is necessary to avoid them, otherwise they need not be avoided. If you are not sure whether they contain anything haraam or not – without being paranoid or succumbing to the waswaas (insinuating whispers of the Shaytaan) – then it is preferable to avoid them as a precaution out of fear of Allaah. And Allaah knows best.  Islam Q&A
Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid
As salaamu alaikum,
Bismillahi wa salaatu wa salaamu ‘alaa rasulillah,

(Taken entirely from a dars given by Sh. Muhammad Bazmool, translated by Moosa Richardson and a fatwa given by Sh. al-Albaani)

Istihala is when something becomes pure.  It was najis (impure) but it is now taahir (pure).  A good example would be maitah (animal carcass):  it is najis, but should it be burned and become ashes, or decompose and become
earth, then it is taahir, it is no longer najis.  This can happen with dung or feces or whatever.  Whenever something changes from one property to another, then the ruling likewise changes.

Example:  Let us say that someone uses the fat of a dead animal to make soap.  That fat is najis, but the chemical change that it was put through makes it taahir.

Ibn Hazm put it concisely when he said,

“Ruling upon an object is upon what it is named (what it is), if the name(what it is) changes then so does the ruling.”

He also mentioned in his book of fiqh, Al-Muhalla:  “If the quality of the substance of naturally impure objects changes the name which was given to it so that it is no more applicable to it and it is given a new name which is given to a pure object, so it is no more an impure thing.  It becomes a new object, with a new rule.”

Meaning that if the natural composition of a substance changes to another substance of a different composition, so much so that you can no longer call the new substance by the name of what it was– ruling upon that substance
changes too.

Proof/Example 1:

The companions (radyallahu anhum) used to eat a cheese that came from the land of the disbelievers.  In that cheese was a part of the calf which was slaughtered by the disbelievers in a way that is not in accordance with
Islaam.  The companions knew this, but they also  knew that the prohibition was upon the calf, what is directly from the calf, and what could be properly called part of the calf; the ruling is not upon that which you cannot identify as part of the calf nor is it called any longer such-and-such part of the calf.  This is called istihala.

Proof/Example 2:

Another proof from the Sunnah:  The Prophet (sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam)forbade making vinegar out of wine, but he said that if you should come across vinegar that has been made from wine then it is halaal.

Why?

The ruling is upon what the object is, and not what it was.  Wine is haraam; vinegar is not, and before the wine became an intoxicant, it was halaal.Why?  Because it was fruit before that.

Proof/Example 3:

Allah says in the Qur’an:

And surely there is a lesson for you in the cattle we give you to drink of what is in their bellies from between the feces and blood, pure milk,wholesome to those who drink it. (16:66)

Allah is putting forth an example for us of how something pure can come from something impure.

And we can also use as proof something that we’ve already gone over.  The Prophet (sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) said that when the hide of maitah(the carrion) is tanned, then it is taahir.  He (sallallahu ‘alayhi wasallam) gave us a method to purify something which was first impure.

Let us examine things we are familiar with: mono and diglycerides, whey, gluten, emulsifiers, gelatin, and whatever else is on the international haraam list.  These by-products sometimes come from animals, pigs even, in
which case the ruling on the initial substances is that they are haraam.But the initial substances (e.g. fat, marrow, cartilage, etc.) are putthrough chemical change so that you no longer can even call it “pig fat” or”animal bone” or “skin” or “cartilage”, etc. because it is no longer that,hence it is taahir, it is halaal.

What is gelatin?  As Oxford dictionary of science defines:  “A colorless or pale yellow, water-soluble protein obtained by boiling collagen with water and evaporating the solution. It melts when water is added and dissolves in hot water to form a solution that sets to a gel on cooling.” (page 290)

Is this a chemical change or is this not a chemical change?  Is it protein any longer?  No, it is not.

You are in disbelief so you ask, “But how can it be halaal when it came from something haraam?”

Because of the proofs mentioned above, the ruling is not based upon what it was, the ruling is based upon what it is.  A Hanafi scholar, Ibn Abedin gave the example:  “the swine which drowns in a salt lake and decomposes and
becomes salt itself, is now halaal.”

And other Hanafi scholars go on to say: “salt is different from meat and bones.If they become salt, they are salt.”

To take the salt example further:  salt consists of sodium chloride (NaCl)when together they are the halaal food known as salt, when separated they make up two poisonous substances which are then haraam for consumption.

The ahnaaf (Hanafis) also use as an example the human semen, saying that it is najis, then when it inseminates the egg and becomes a blood clot it is still najis, but when it becomes flesh it is no longer najis. And the
ahnaaf are not the only ones who take this position.

The examples are numerous and they extend beyond food:  Yesterday a man was kaafir and going towards Hell, today he is Muslim, so what is the ruling upon him?  It is based upon what he is today.

We must be careful when we call things haraam because it is a form of thulm(oppression). Scholars have said that it is worse that you make something halaal to haraam rather than making something haraam to  halaal. This deen
Allah has made yusr (easy) let us not make it ‘usr (hard). Wallahu ‘Alim.

Eat halal. com

What is Halal?

View in: English | French | German

The arabic word  (Halal) means lawful. In the Holy Quran, Allah commands Muslims and all of mankind to eat of the Halal things. Among the many verses of the Quran that convey this message, here are a few:

O mankind! Eat of that which is lawful and wholesome
in the earth, and follow not the footsteps of the devil. 
Lo! he is an open enemy for you. (2:168) 
 

O ye who believe! Eat of the good things wherewith 
We have provided you, and render thanks to Allah
if it is (indeed) He Whom ye worship. (2:172)
 

Eat of that which Allah hath bestowed on you as food 
lawful and good, and keep your duty to Allah in Whom
ye are believers. (5:88)
 

The following products are definitely Halal: 

1. Milk (from cows, sheep, camels, and goats) 
2. Honey 
3. Fish 
4. Plants which are not intoxicant 
5. Fresh or naturally frozen vegetables 
6. Fresh or dried fruits 
7. Legumes and nuts like peanuts, cashew nuts, hazel nuts, walnuts, etc. 
8. Grains such as wheat, rice, rye, barley, oat, etc. 
 
 

Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim (or a Jew or Christian – click here for more). The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 3 main blood vessels are cut. While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it), the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah, such as “Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar”. 

 

Animals such as cows, sheep, goats, deer, moose, chickens, ducks, game birds, etc., are also Halal, but they must be Zabihah (slaughtered according to Islamic Rites) in order to be suitable for consumption. The procedure is as follows: the animal must be slaughtered by a Muslim. The animal should be put down on the ground (or held it if it is small) and its throat should be slit with a very sharp knife to make sure that the 3 main blood vessels are cut. While cutting the throat of the animal (without severing it), the person must pronounce the name of Allah or recite a blessing which contains the name of Allah, such as “Bismillah Allah-u-Akbar”. 
 

Why does the animal have to be slaughtered by a Muslim? Can’t we eat the meat of animals slaughtered by the People of the Book?

Allah Taãla says in the Noble Qurãn:
‘Today I have made permissible for you pure things and the food of those who were given the Book (Ahlul-Kitaab) is also Halal for you’. (Qurãn 5:4)

Overtly the above Aayat reads that the Zabihah of the Ahlul-Kitaab is permissible, but the fundamental principle must be understood in order to understand the Qurãn i.e. ‘One part of the Qurãn explains the other’. Therefore, this verse should be understood in the light of another verse relating to the same matter: ‘Do not eat unless Allah’s name has been taken and this (not taking Allah’s name) practice is transgression’ (Quran 6:121)

While the former verse explicitly states that the Zabihah of the Ahlul-Kitaab is permissible and the latter says, ‘Do not eat unless Allah’s name has been taken’, in the light of both these verses, it is understood that the Zabihah of the Ahlul-kitaab is permissible only if the name of Allah is taken at the time of slaughtering. The Ahlul-kitaab used to take Allah’s name when slaughtering an animal, therefore, their Zabihah was also Halal for Muslims. It is for this same reason that an animal slaughtered by the Mushrikeen, etc. is not permissible. The Ahlul-kitaab of today are recognized by name, less faith. There is no guarantee that they take the name of Allah/God when slaughtering an animal. Furthermore, they cannot be anymore trusted in matters pertaining to Halal/Haram.

Since there is uncertainty in the above slaughter manner, the Jurists are unanimous that it is not permissible to consume meat which is doubtful. Unless there is certainty that the Ahlul-kitaab read the ‘Tasmiyah’ i.e. take the name of God when slaughtering an animal then only will the meat be permissible. We suggest that the Muslims in the U.S.A. and U.K. slaughter the animals themselves. A committee be appointed and look into ways to facilitate for Halaal meat slaughtered by Muslims. This will make them independent from Christian/Jewish sources.

Another proposition may be that the meat sold on the market are packed, sealed and stamped by a Muslim organisation consisting of reliable scholars and Úlama who have proper Islamic knowledge of the principles pertaining to Halaal/Haraam of the Shariáh.

and Allah Ta’ala Knows Best

The arabic word  (Haram) means unlawful. The following items have been categorically spelled out as being Haram by jurists in light of the Holy Quran and the Sunnah of the Prophet Mohammad  :

1. Pig 
2. Blood 
3. Carnivorous animals 
4. Almost all reptiles and insects 
5. The bodies of dead animals 
6. Halal animals which are not slaughtered according to the Islamic Law.
7. Wine, Ethyl Alcohol, and Spirits.

The above mentioned items are Haram and should be avoided by all Muslims.
 

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “E-coded products their status

Add yours

  1. You gave information about food produts which are used in European countries but I would like to know about food products which are available in Indian markets bear the E codes.We are in a fix whether we can consume those produts?

    We are basically showing the products as what they possibily comprise of. To know more we should ask the consumer helplines of the companies for more details

  2. Kindly cofirm in yes or no that for Muslims Ajino Moto (E621 MSG) is Halal or Haram.
    Thank you,
    Nayyar
    Lahore-Pakistan
    Assalaamu alaykum.
    i am not in paakistan but from what i have been told that the japanese ajini moto contains gelatine. Therefore be cautious about it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: